Music For Films Standard Vinyl

By Brian EnoAvailable now
Image: musicforfilmslpstandard
180g Vinyl 2018 Standard Edition.

“Arguably the most quietly influential of all his works” according to the BBC, this conceptual record was intended as a soundtrack for imaginary films, with excerpts later featuring in movies by directors including John Woo and Derek Jarman.

The album is a loose compilation of material, composed of short tracks ranging from one-and-a-half minutes to just over four, making it the antithesis of the long, ambient pieces he later became known for. The compositional styles and equipment used also carried over onto Eno's work David Bowie's 1977 classic ‘Low’.

Unlike Eno's later ambient works, ‘Music for Films’ utilises a broader sonic palette, with his studio exercises being supplemented by instrumentation from Rhett Davies, John Cale, Phil Collins, Robert Fripp, Fred Frith, Percy Jones, Bill MacCormick, Dave Mattacks, Paul Rudolph and Rod Melvin.


‘M386’ (2:50)
‘Aragon’ (1:37)
‘From The Same Hill’ (2:58)
‘Inland Sea’ (1:23)
‘Two Rapid Formations’ (3:24)
‘Slow Water’ (3:16)
‘Sparrowfall’ (1) (1:11)
‘Sparrowfall’ (2) (1:45)
‘Sparrowfall’ (3) (1:23)
‘Quartz’ (2:02)
‘Events In Dense Fog’ (3:43)
‘There Is Nobody’ (1:42)
‘A Measured Room’ (1:41)
‘Patrolling Wire Borders’ (1:02)
‘Task Force’ (1:20)
‘Alternative 3’ (3:11)
‘Strange Light’ (2:08)
‘’Final Sunset’ (4:16)

Physical Musical

Title Format PriceBuy
Music For Films Standard Vinyl Vinyl £20.99Out of stock